Reviews for Bluebell Bank Sheplegh Court

 

Rating 5/5  Fantastic.
Francoise D. Review Submitted 10 Jul 2017    Date of Stay 6 Jul 2017
Beautiful property, well appointed flat. Enjoyed the peace and quiet during our short break and took advantage of the pool and tennis courts. Very thoughtful welcome basket which was appreciated by all. Highly recommended.

Rating 5/5  Just a quick note to say thank you

JM. Review Submitted 29 April Date of Stay 16 April 2017

We had a lovely stay at Bluebell Bank, your apartment is lovely and you have thought of everything, catering for every need makes a family break so much easier. Grounds and house are gorgeous, Dartmouth is beautiful and to top it all the weather was good.

Kids loved the eggs and wine and food parcel was very much appreciated.

Would love to return again in the future.

Rating 4/5  A beautiful hideaway

A M.Review Submitted 25 Aug-2016  Date of Stay 13 Aug 2016

We had a wonderful holiday at Bluebell bank. It was immaculately clean on arrival and very well equipt. We also felt our toddler was very safe and well catered for. We loved the beautiful grounds and used both swimming pools on numerous occasions. The apartment is nicely furnished and very comfortable and very spacious. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is that the kitchen is a little dated. We would definitely recommend this property for a holiday in a beautiful part of Devon.

Rating 5/5  Perfect holidays in a perfect accomodation

Ulrike K. Review Submitted 31-Jul-2016  Date of Stay 16 July 2016
We had a great time at Sleplegh court. The apartment is so nice, spacious and well equipped (you can even make waffles). Everything was there and we had enough place for us (a family of four) and our two friends who visited us for two days. The apartment was very tidy and the way to Slepleght court was very well described (it is a little bit hidden in the nature). What we also liked were the stunning views from all the windows and living in a Manor house. It was like living two hundreds years ago, but with all the modern amenities. The weather was very good and we assume for English people even hot, so we could swim every day in the outdoor swimming pool (which had a temperature of 28°C). When we had to leave especially the children were very sad and we agreed that we will come again (normally we do not make holidays at the same place, as there are so many places to discover in the world). We say thank you for a great holiday and will recommend the apartment to everybody. One last hint: bring some mosquito repellents with you, because there were sometimes very nasty mosquites and we all had mosquite bites (but will not complain about them..)

Rating 3/5  Well equiped and comfortable apartment with great facilities.

Karen S  Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2016    Date of Stay: May 2016  Source: HomeAway

Good experience overall. The owners were thoughtful about guests needs.The fridge, which is quite old, needs replacing and the two double mattresses’ had seen better days. The only real concern was the cold water tank which was slow to fill and my three year old granddaughter could have been scalded by the shower but we overcame this. Really enjoyable stay mainly due to the two pools and the location.

Owner’s Response: The fridge is old but does operate well under 5 oC. It will be replaced when the kitchen is renovated. The kingsized mattresses are firm but not old, however we accept that they may not suit everyone. We have added mattress covers to help those who like a softer feel. We were concerned about the report of a fluctuating temperature in the shower over the bath and have been in touch with the guest to ensure that no one has been harmed. We don’t think this is linked to a speed of flow into the cold water tank but may have been due to another part of the system being used at the same time and affecting the pressure. We have now disconnected the bath shower until it can be thoroughly investigated.

 

Rating 5/5  Great apartment

Cassie R.  Review submitted : 23 April 2016   Date of Stay : 8 April 2016

Great apartment, execellent support from Owner. Brilliant location within the countryside. Loved it. Thank you very much for a lovely stay. 

Rating 5/5 christmas at Bluebell Bank 2015

Tina M.  Review submitted : 31 Dec 2015   Date of Stay : 24 Dec 2015

A gorgeous house in even more gorgeous settings. Very peaceful and relaxing – the perfect place to spend christmas away from the madness. The apartment was lovely and had everything we needed. Too cold to make use of the outdoor pool but loved the indoor pool and sauna sadly ran out of time to use the tennis courts. All communications with owner were excellent and loved the thoughtful gift of cereal, cava and christmas cake. The only negative thing i could think of is that the stay wasnt long enough. Excellent driving instructions. Sorry my phone wont let me put a star rating in but would choose the top one.
Rating 5/5   Beautiful spacious apartment & grounds
Anthony W Review Submitted : 19-Aug-2015  Date of Stay: 8 Aug 2015
We stayed here in August this is a very well appointed apartment, it was well equipped with everything you may need for a day out, and activity’s available at Sheplegh Court. The views from the apartment were beautiful, and it was very spacious. Made good use of heated outdoor swimming pool and tennis court. It was 15 min drive to Dartmouth mostly single track roads, quit isolated so will suit people who like peace and quiet.
Rating 5/5  Bluebell Bank
FK Review Submitted : 18-Aug-2015  Date of Stay: 1 Aug 2015
We loved the apartment and the pool! The view from the window seat in the lounge is stunning. We had a lovely holiday in Devon and would recommend this property to family & friends.
Rating 5/5  Great place to stay despite the narrow lanes!
MD Review Submitted : 09-Aug-2015 Date of Stay: 11 July 2015
The apartment is extremely well furnished and appointed, with plenty of crockery and cutlery and utensils. The only thing in the kitchen that appeared not to be there was a cafetiere – by no means an essential item. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the only missing items were beach towels and these were quickly provided when we asked.The views from the living area and bedrooms are delightful. The bedroom with two single beds is rather cramped for two adults but is fine for children. We felt more coat hangers could be provided, but again a minor point. Some of us enjoyed using the outside and inside swimming pools and the billiard room. The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. As some of us were on the elderly side it would have be helpful if there had been handrails on the steps down to both bathrooms. In summary we all enjoyed ourselves and would recommend the apartment to others.

Rating 4/5  Loved staying in this historic house.

chris r. Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2015 Date of Stay: 23 May 2015

Our stay at Bluebell Bank was delightful . The apartment was excellent with lovely views over the landscaped gardens. The house itself was stunning and its location was secluded. We made full use of all the facilities on offer and my husband and son enjoyed playing a game of snooker. We have been to the area many times and the lady in the Bovey Tracey museum was really helpful in helping us finding information on a relative who used to live in the area. Overall on my list of properties to revisit.

Rating 5/5  “Fantastic Easter at Bluebell Bank”

MC – Review Submitted: 22 April 2015  Date of Stay: April 2015

We had a perfect stay at Bluebell Bank, The apartment was as described, it was well presented, clean, tidy and very well equipped, The grounds of Sheplegh Court are beautiful and we were lucky to have nice weather the children had plenty to do. We had a Fantastic Sunday lunch at the Normandy Arms at Blackawton. We would highly recommend the property to all and hopefully we will get chance to stay again. Thanks Peter & Liz for letting us stay we had a truly wonderful time

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 “Beautiful peacefull spot “

MT – Review Submitted: 8 August 2013  Date of Stay: July 2013

We had a lovely stay with our friends and two teenagers and a toddler. Perfectly situated near Dartmouth. The apartment Bluebell Bank has got the most beautiful view of Shepleigh court. A well equipped property, good beds and clean comfortable bathrooms. Kitchen is a little bit small but good enough to cook your daily meals.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 “Lovely appartment”

Annie D – Review Submitted: 3 Sept 2012  Date of Stay: August 2012
Lovely place. Return visit to Shepleigh after 20 years and place as lovely as ever. Beautiful flat and a great holiday. Thank you!

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 “Unbelievable corner”

MML – Review Submitted: 3 Sept 2012  Date of Stay: August 2012

An unbelievable, unspoiled, uncommerciallized corner of Dartmouth for spending best of your time. My family enjoyed our stay. The very first sight of the main building in that spectacular surrounding charmed me. The accommodation and the facilities you will appreciate only when you spend time there. To have maximum enjoyment we didnt want to leave the place but the beaches were so close once a day we went there. The snooker, the swimming pools (indoor and the out door) and the tennis court kept the boys engaged when we enjoyed the walks in the extensive very well cared area. I wish the area stays unspoiled, peaceful, uncommerciallized for as long as possible for it’s visitors.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5

Lisa L. -Review Submitted: 26 August 2012  Date of Stay: August 2012

Fantastic accommodation, very clean and well presented, ideal for a family of six. There was an air of peacefulness and serenity about the place which encouraged you to relax. The welcome pack on arrival although unexpected was a nice touch. A beautiful location, set in superb grounds which are immaculately maintained. There are plenty of walks, although set in the side of a valley it is not for the feint hearted! Ideal for nature lovers, buzzards were a regular sight from the window seat in the lounge. There are excellent on site facilities suitable for all ages. Our four children, aged 4 to 11, especially enjoyed the small indoor plunge pool. The owners provided good customer service, keeping us well informed of any updates prior to our visit. They ensured that there was plenty of information regarding the local area, attractions and the on site facilities available. There was also an abundance of additional items available for use, eg picnic baskets, board games, binoculars, books, tennis rackets etc, Another thoughtful touch. An ideal base away from it all but within easy distance to the local amenities. Dartmouth, Blackpool Sands, Slapton and Salcombe are but a short drive away. Woodlands Family Theme Park, less than 3 miles away, provided a great family day out on more than one occassion. The local pub situated in Blackawton, The George Inn, provided excellent food and the staff were very accommodating regarding the children. Would definately recommend it. This accommodation would suit both young and old alike as it seems to have the best of both worlds, an escape from the hussle and bussle but within easy access to everything when you want it. I would definitely recommend this to both family and friends and would have no hesitation in booking a return visit.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5

Colin D – Review Submitted: August 20, 2012 Date of Stay: July 2012
My wife and I took the two grandchildren (aged 14 and 11), and we all loved the place. Equipped with everything you could want, it was very comfortable. The grounds are stunning, the heated outdoor pool being a great asset. Watch out for the horse flies that can bite as you walk from the house to the pool! With a plunge pool, full size billard table, dart board and tennis court there was loads to keep everyone occupied. Add free WiFi, this was the icing on the cake! Dartmouth is a short distance away (where there is a Sainsburys), with a Park and Ride if the town is busy. The kids had sailing lessons with Marshalls Sailing School at Dittisham, and we all did the Canoe Adventures at Tuckenhay (well worth it!). Apart from the local attractions, the Bluebell Bank flat was just what was needed to relax and enjoy the facilities at Sheplegh Court.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 – Perfect holiday

Ilia B. Review Submitted: August 2, 2011 Date of Stay: June 2011

We were really suprised to find us in this magnificant castle-like residence full of living nature, singing birds, exotic trees and flowering rhododendrons. Very comfortable accomodation designed and styled with a good taste letting find an appropriate activity for every weather. A suitable starting point to discover the South-West from Land’s End to Dartmoore National Park and Exeter. We have simply planned our next day using the availabe free WiFi internet connection.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 4/5 – Stay

MB  UK .  Review Submitted: June 12, 2011 Date of Stay: April 2011

Very quiet
Good facilities
Great location
Good value for money

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 – S. Hams – Devon

Happy traveller London. Review Submitted: October 16, 2010 Date of stay: September 2010

Sheplegh Court is an oasis of calm. Bluebell Bank was very comfortable with all aspects of a holiday catered for. Lovely views from the windows over the very appealing grounds – very well maintained. We would definitely return.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 – A wonderful piece of hidden history

Lou Kent.  Review Submitted: September 22, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010

This is a truly magnificent property with very good on site facilities of tennis court and swimming pools (although the inside pool is only small)
The surrounding grounds are well maintained and pretty. The location is perfect for visiting Dartmouth and Salcombe both of which are in easy reach.

The accomodation is very well equipped and the beds all very comfortable with the most amazing views.

For anyone interested in the history of the Second World War the fact that you would be staying in a house visited by Winston Churchill, Field Marshall Montgomery and Dwight Eisenhower whilst planning D Day is quite amazing and an added bonus after all who knows the invasion might have been planned in the very room you stay in.

If you are looking for a restful break in beautiful surroundings or a luxourious base for exploring South Devon Sheplegh Court is the place for you.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 – Sheplagh Court

Scotty Northern Ireland. Review Submitted: July 27, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010

Sheplagh Court is a very peaceful secluded property. We had a lovely time and the facilities were excellent, we had everything we could possibly require. The children really enjoyed the use of the tennis courts and the swimming pool. We would highly recommend this to anyone.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 – A spacious well furnished quality appartment

Northerners Glasgow  Review Submitted: July 28, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010

The appartment and facilities were ideal for our party of six adults. The owners have provided everything you will need to enjoy your stay. Only a few of the appartments are let out so the swimming pool, tennis court etc are not busy. It is in a good location near Dartmouth with plenty of places to eat out ( we recommend the George Inn in Blackawton) as well as a large Sainsburys. The area around the property is not suitable for cycling or walking due to the high sided sunken lanes. We were delighted to find that the property had internet connection. We would have no hesitation recommending this property to our friends.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 Whitsun 2010 – Sheplegh Court, Bluebell Bank

Arny Ange Halesowen Review Submitted: June 10, 2010 Date of Stay: May 2010

A stunning location and a luxurious yet comfortable apartment. We had a wonderful week, enhanced by the weather and will return if we have the opportunity. Thank you.
(Don’t think the sauna was working but the outdoor pool being heated was fabulous)

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 relaxing getaway

jjslc Richmond, Surrey, UK Review Submitted: September 24, 2009 Date of Stay: September 2009

We stayed at Bluebell Bank with our 15 month old son and my husband’s mother. The apartment catered for all out needs including a highchair and cot, There was plenty of usful information and we found that we had too many places to see and not enough time. The grounds were beautiful and we made use of the tennis court and pool.

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating 5/5 A beautiful Apartment in a beautiful setting.

Yorkshireman Beverley, East Yorkshire Review Submitted: September 3, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009

Myself, my wife, my father in law and two boys (2 and 13 years) spent a very enjoyable week in Bluebell Bank during July 2009. The drive up to the house cannot fail to impress and the apartment was as described, spacious, clean, well equipped and well-maintained. The view of the grounds and the distant hills from the living room was wonderful, The indoor and outdoor swimming pools were enjoyed by my two boys as was exploring the extensive and well-kept grounds. The caretaker was also very helpful in suggesting places to eat and to visit. All in all a holiday which satisfied and even exceeded our expectations in an apartment which I would have no hesitation in recommending to friends and colleagues

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating5/5 Another excellent stay at Sheplegh Court

TTIJ Ashford, Kent Review Submitted: August 30, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009

This was our second stay at Sheplegh Court with our two teenage sons. The flat is very well furnished and very clean with excellent facilities. There are loads of details about the surrounding area in the welcome pack in the flat. The grounds are absolutely stunning. We made great use of the two swimming pools, tennis court, snooker table and darts. The surrounding area is lovely including Dartmouth, Greenways (the summer home of Agatha Christie), various river trips, beaches and even Exeter and Plymouth aren’t far. Very good nearby restaurants especially the Laughing Monk in Strete. We would recommend this property to any of our friends without hesitation!

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating5/5  Lots to do at and around Shepleugh Court

T, L&A  Cranleigh Review Submitted: June 3, 2009 Date of Stay: April 2009

We stayed at Bluebell bank with our 1 year old son. It is a big flat in the Sheplegh Court house and, with its three bedrooms (2 double, one twin), was more than we needed. It was clean and bright and has everything we needed to feel at home. The bottle of wine for arrival was most appreciated!

Sheplegh Court is in an isolated, rural location which we found very peaceful. We spent the days visiting Dartmouth (close), Salcombe (further), walking on the coastal paths, visiting NT properties and stopping for lots of tea and cake. There are also some fantastic beaches nearby. In the evenings we walked in the grounds, plunged in the pool, had saunas and relaxed watching DVDs. We also managed to squeeze in some tennis on the court in the grounds.

In short, we had a fantastic time and would definitely go back.

The only negative was that the hot tub was not working.

Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Age 55+

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating5/5 Holiday in Sheplegh Court, Devon

Walkers Paradise  West Sussex Review Submitted: April 21, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2008

I rented this property based on a web search. I was very pleasantly surprised because it was exactly as advertised. There were 6 of us and the accomodation was just perfect. We took my wife’s parents with us and they were just ‘in heaven’ walking around the extensive gardens. The kids were also catered for with the indoor pool, tennis courts and all the space to exert their energies. The property is also ideally situated as a base for further exploring the Devon area with towns, villages, beaches all very accessable within a short drive. Some of the local villages house some very attractive pubs that cater for food and made the children very welcome. All in all a very enjoyable time was had by the whole family and we will certainly be looking to return sometime in the near future. Finally just a word to Peter and Liz, thank you very much for allowing us to share our experience with your other and hopefully new customers, we had a great time and look forward to another stay in Sheplegh Court.

Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating5/5 Fabulous start to 2009!

Simon T  London Review Submitted: May 17, 2009 Date of Stay: December 2008

I stayed in Shepleigh Court with my girlfriend and two friends over the New Years break and had a wonderful time. The apartment is very well appointed and had everything we needed for our short holiday. We made good use of the excellent facilities: including games of tennis, snooker, darts and sauna. The apartment is very well situated for acces to all areas of the South Hams, which we enjoyed exploring. There are lots of good restaurants near by, especially in Dartmouth – a scenic and bustling fishing town. We also enjoyed eating in – making use of the very well equiped kitchen.

I would stongly recommend Shepleigh Court to anyone looking for a relaxing break, but who also wants to ensure there is plenty to do!

Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway, Families with Young Children, Age 55+

Dartmouth holiday apartment rental rating 5Rating5/5 High standard, very quiet, historic place

Christine, Switzerland Bern Review Submitted: April 20, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2008

Wonderful place for a quiet holiday far away from noise and commonness. Description very good and accurate, facilities well-maintained, good service by the owner (books and guides about the environment, shopping,birds, plants..), furniture and bedlinen very nice. Warm welcome.
Swimming pool and tennis court in the garden, walking in the area, excursions to the sea and dartmoor.
Roads/lanes narrow – not good for anxious drivers of the continent! House is far away from the next city.
We loved it.

Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway